Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Pages: 1 [2]
Print
Author Topic: [Problem] Base tile size seems to be slightly off  (Read 13518 times)
mvBarracuda
Admin
Community member

Posts: 1308



View Profile Email
« Reply #15 on: December 04, 2009, 06:05:38 PM »

I just zoomed in via paint.net and measured the distance. Here it says the distance between the upper corner and the bottom corner is 35px. You have to take into account that the distance from pixel to a neighbouring pixel is 1, so you have to add one 1px to the measured distance to get the actual number of pixels. Makes 36px height for me so everything seems okay here.
Logged
Q_x
Admin
Community member

Posts: 553



View Profile
« Reply #16 on: December 04, 2009, 06:12:35 PM »

Shevy - yes. I can't imagine 70 pix wide tiles not to be "jagged" when touching at corners.
Barra - Yes. My measurement was 34 pix as at this blurry drawing, so it makes tiles 35 pix height. Ask me why - I dunno. I won't argue.
Logged

zenbitz
Community member

Posts: 1164



View Profile
« Reply #17 on: December 04, 2009, 08:16:48 PM »

I vote for status quo. 

Logged

We are not denying them an ending...
We are denying them a DISNEY ending - Icelus
mvBarracuda
Admin
Community member

Posts: 1308



View Profile Email
« Reply #18 on: December 04, 2009, 08:51:18 PM »

Alrighty, we can reevaluate the aspect after the first techdemo release but let's worry about the more important aspects for now :-)
Logged
mvBarracuda
Admin
Community member

Posts: 1308



View Profile Email
« Reply #19 on: December 07, 2009, 02:15:30 PM »

Sorry to bring this up again but I discussed the whole tile size aspect with Artifice at IRC recently and we came up with some new conclusions.

If you create groud tiles that are larger than 1*1m in real life size, e.g. 2*2m or 4*4m, their ingame size has to be multiple of 72*36px. I don't have an idea why 70*36px tiles don't show little gaps between them, but if you create larger tiles, the missing 2px in width will actually multiply so you'll get visible gaps between the tiles in this case. Just tested it with a 5*5m real life size tile in the editor and the 350*160px tile (70*36px * 5) features two gaps at the West and East corner of the tile, while the 360*180px tile (72*36px * 5) fits just fine.

So my proposal is to leave the current 70*36px tiles in place for now, but update the documention at the wiki to point out that they're in place for legacy reasons. New 1*1m tiles should be 72*36px (we can mix them with the 70*36px legacy tiles without any problem) and larger tiles should be int * 72*36px.

If the graphics artists are okay with it, I'll update the related wiki articles.
« Last Edit: December 07, 2009, 02:18:42 PM by mvBarracuda » Logged
mvBarracuda
Admin
Community member

Posts: 1308



View Profile Email
« Reply #20 on: February 19, 2010, 12:38:17 PM »

Just added a note in the tile tutorial at the wiki concerning the correct tilesize:
http://wiki.parpg.net/Graphics:Workflow_Simple_Tile#Important_note

Somebody with Blender experience would still have to update the wiki article so you get correct tile sizes following it.

EDIT: I've updated the articles at the graphics department section of the wiki to reflect the new tilesizes. Somebody would still have to reproduce if you really get 72*36px tiles with the Mitch & the CatRom sampling filter:
http://wiki.parpg.net/Graphics:Workflow_Simple_Tile
« Last Edit: February 19, 2010, 01:36:01 PM by mvBarracuda » Logged
Pages: 1 [2]
Print
Jump to: