Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 7
Print
Author Topic: Proposal: Dialog System Implementation  (Read 33219 times)
trained circus idiot
Community member

View Profile
« on: June 19, 2009, 05:56:11 AM »

Hello again,
and more apologies because I am new to wiki formatting and probably made a bit of a mess of it. That said, here's a link to a simple proposed syntax for a dialog scripting language: http://wiki.parpg.net/Proposals:Dialog_Implementation
I've included a sample script below (as I was running into issues adding it to the wiki). The placeholder grammar is admittedly rather ugly and suggestions to fix that are welcome (as is any input in general), but my primary concern is with identifying and addressing any gaps in the functionality before moving on with the implementation. The script's ugliness is potentially a non-issue, if there is a decent dialog editor.

Code: ("sample script")
#sample dialog script
#offers the player 3 choices and insults them if they choose the 3rd one
#Thu Jun 18 23:27:06 EDT 2009

#special variables
$(DBOX_TITLE) string Hello World
$(DBOX_IMG) string images/sample_npc.png

#if we've already played this dialog then skip to START (bypassing the init section below)
!$(previously played dialog)
@START

#mark this script as previously played/started
$(previously played dialog) bool true

#set some variable, case sensitive, no other rules really
#you can set them anywhere in the dialog script but they do not have a value until then
#unset variables will eval as 'false'
$(failed) bool false
$(current insult) string kind sir
#we can have long space-filled variable names
$(bad choice text variable) string don't choose this one

#start section, the label is for our benefit, the interpreter doesn't treat any of them specially
[START]
"Prepare for the ultimate choice!
#flush the dialog before displaying the choice, for good measure
^

[CHOICE_MENU]
$(DBOXTITLE) string Choice Menu